This week's banner is by Tooquilos from Sydney, Australia

Problems and solutions
Back to the book | Post New Topic | Search | Help | Log In | Register

» Forum Index » Problems and solutions » Topic: HUD brush adjustment has lost its colour fill.

Posted on 20/11/20 2:45:54 PM
DavidMac
Director of Photoshop
Posts: 5070

Reply


HUD brush adjustment has lost its colour fill.
Here is the text of a post I just placed in the Adobe forums. I thought I might post here as well in case anyone has any ideas.


Suddenly out of the blue my HUD brush size/hardness adjustment has no colour fill. It shows nothing but a thin black circular outline. I am using the standard general brush set. When I hold down the Option & Control keys (Mac) I get a simple circular brush outline. It changes size with sideways cursor movement but with only an outline I cannot see hardness. The little read out box beside the circle shows that hardness is changing with vertical movement and the resulting brush is changed as it should be but it is not visible in HUD mode without a colour fill. My brush cursor is set in preferences to Normal. The HUD fill is set in preferences to the default red.

The problem occurs with both mouse and Wacom. It occurs in all all Image modes and in 8 and 16 bit. It is persistent through both Photoshop re-start and system re-start.

It has worked perfectly in this current version of photoshop until today. I have not changed any settings in preferences prior to this occurring. I have searched through all the relevant settings and I can see nothing amiss. I not aware of anything else having been changed that might trigger this.

I have not yet tried a full re-install until I am sure there is no other option.

iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019)
3,7 GHz Intel Core i5
32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
Radeon Pro 580X 8 GB

So do any of the geniuses here in HTCP have any thoughts?

_________________
The subtlety and conviction of any Photoshop effect is invariably inversely proportional to the number of knobs on it .......

Posted on 21/11/20 8:06:25 PM
michael sinclair
Off-Topic Opportunist
Posts: 1775

Reply


Re: HUD brush adjustment has lost its colour fill.
YES! Here is the link for the Youtube video: When Photoshop is not working: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9MKoz-0C8U

Essentually, what you do if you are a Mac user is press Command+Option+Shift the moment after (split second) you relaunch Photoshop. A window will pop up to ask you if would like to reset preferences, so click Yes/Ok (this is a different process to doing it within Photoshop. Hopefully, things might be working after that.

I have re-installed Photoshop 2020 without any problems.


Posted on 21/11/20 8:53:16 PM
DavidMac
Director of Photoshop
Posts: 5070

Reply


Re: HUD brush adjustment has lost its colour fill.
Oh shit! That resets ALL my preferences. I've been trying not to do that.

Thank you so much Michael for this. I really appreciate it. It may well be the unavoidable solution.

I still have 2020 on my system and it works perfectly. So for now I am simply using that. Responses I am getting on the Adobe forums are that others have suddenly started experiencing the same thing at the same time. Most likely from a bug in the most recent 2021 update rather than a trashed preference. Tomorrow, when my poor patience is less frazzled, I shall try your suggestion.

Thanks again.

_________________
The subtlety and conviction of any Photoshop effect is invariably inversely proportional to the number of knobs on it .......

Posted on 22/11/20 00:10:48 AM
michael sinclair
Off-Topic Opportunist
Posts: 1775

Reply


Re: HUD brush adjustment has lost its colour fill.
I guess I know how you feel right now



Posted on 22/11/20 09:08:48 AM
DavidMac
Director of Photoshop
Posts: 5070

Reply


Re: HUD brush adjustment has lost its colour fill.
That's about it .........

_________________
The subtlety and conviction of any Photoshop effect is invariably inversely proportional to the number of knobs on it .......

Posted on 22/11/20 1:54:35 PM
DavidMac
Director of Photoshop
Posts: 5070

Reply


Re: HUD brush adjustment has lost its colour fill.
Well I tried and it doesn't work. Fortunately I had all my screen layout and many other preferences saved so getting things back to the way I like them was far quicker than I feared.

I have since been back to Adobe forums and found that my post has been 'merged' with dozens of others having exactly the same problem. Adobe have now acknowledged the problem and say that engineering is investigating it.

Fingers crossed. Thanks again for the help.

_________________
The subtlety and conviction of any Photoshop effect is invariably inversely proportional to the number of knobs on it .......
Back

[ To post a reply, please Log In or Register ]

Powered by SimpleForum Pro 4.6