This week's banner is by Frank from Nova Scotia, Canada

Problems and solutions
Back to the book | Post New Topic | Search | Help | Log In | Register

» Forum Index » Problems and solutions » Topic: Unable to initialise backing libary

Posted on 07/09/22 05:31:05 AM
tooquilos
Wizard of Oz
Posts: 2748

Reply


Unable to initialise backing libary
Regarding Photoshop 2022.

Each time I click on the layers palette or one of the tools, a message appears, twice. I've attached a screen shot of the message. Although Ive deleted and reinstalled PS, the problem persists. Any ideas how this can be rectified. I've googled it but can't find a satisfactory solution. Thanking you in advance.



_________________
Wicked Witch of the West: I'm melting! I'm melting!

Posted on 07/09/22 08:27:21 AM
DavidMac
Director of Photoshop
Posts: 4614

Reply


Re: Unable to initialise backing libary
Have you tried the Adobe forums? There are some very knowledgeable users there.

In the meantime if you need to keep working you could consider a rollback to V22. I had to do that a while back. Boring but useful. You can keep the V22 and V23 installations separate and independent.

https://helpx.adobe.com/download-install/using/install-previous-version.html

_________________
The subtlety and conviction of any Photoshop effect is invariably inversely proportional to the number of knobs on it .......

Posted on 07/09/22 11:48:22 PM
tooquilos
Wizard of Oz
Posts: 2748

Reply


Re: Unable to initialise backing libary
Thank you, David. That's done the trick. I was reading more about it last night this problem. Apparently to run the most current version of PS on computers with an M1 chip requires Rosetta. Too complicated for me So now Ive reverted to an older version and works a dream!

_________________
Dorothy: "there's no place like home!"

Posted on 07/09/22 11:48:24 PM
tooquilos
Wizard of Oz
Posts: 2748

Reply


Re: Unable to initialise backing libary
Thank you, David. That's done the trick. I was reading more about it last night this problem. Apparently to run the most current version of PS on computers with an M1 chip requires Rosetta. Too complicated for me So now Ive reverted to an older version and works a dream!

_________________
Dorothy: Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore

Posted on 08/09/22 10:13:32 AM
Frank
Eager Beaver
Posts: 1474

Reply


Re: Unable to initialise backing libary
Anna, I had to rollback also as I am having problems with PS latest version - Adobe has an open case file on my reported problems and they advised me to use the older version for now.

Posted on 08/09/22 1:59:46 PM
DavidMac
Director of Photoshop
Posts: 4614

Reply


Re: Unable to initialise backing libary
Roll back is not the ideal solution but I am glad it worked for you. I too have problems with latest (I'm on intel chip) but they are minor so I'm sticking with 23 for now.

Fingers crossed.

_________________
The subtlety and conviction of any Photoshop effect is invariably inversely proportional to the number of knobs on it .......

Posted on 08/09/22 4:31:05 PM
DavidMac
Director of Photoshop
Posts: 4614

Reply


Re: Unable to initialise backing libary
Curious to hear how you get on with the new Mac Studio. I presume you have Max rather than Ultra. Did you get the studio display too?


_________________
The subtlety and conviction of any Photoshop effect is invariably inversely proportional to the number of knobs on it .......

Posted on 09/09/22 00:23:01 AM
tooquilos
Wizard of Oz
Posts: 2748

Reply


Re: Unable to initialise backing libary
It's a Mac Studio Max, and so far, it's performing far better than I had expected. On the old Mac, when I rendered out a clip in After Effects, I'd go downstairs for half an hour. But with this one, a similar clip was spat out within a minute.

Their monitor was tempting, but after several discussions, including a staff member of the Mac Store, the price tag of $2500 couldn't be justified. So I opted for a Samsung 4K display with a semi-matt screen at half the price.

_________________
Wicked Witch of the West:I'll get you, my pretty!
And your little dog, too!

Posted on 09/09/22 07:34:57 AM
Steve Caplin
Administrator
Posts: 6753

Reply


Re: Unable to initialise backing libary
I also have an M1 Mac, and I did opt for the Studio Display. Yes, it is stupidly expensive. But it is very good.

Interestingly, Photoshop works fine for me.

Posted on 11/09/22 06:16:00 AM
vibeke
Kreative Kiwi
Posts: 2150

Reply


Re: Unable to initialise backing libary
I haven't had any problems with v23 on my M1 Macbook Pro

_________________
Perfect confidence is granted to the less talented as a consolation prize.
Back

[ To post a reply, please Log In or Register ]

Powered by SimpleForum Pro 4.6