This week's banner is by lwc from Oklahoma, USA

100% Photoshop
Back to the book | Post New Topic | Search | Help | Log In | Register

» Forum Index » 100% Photoshop » Topic: Brick texture

Posted on 06/05/10 3:48:49 PM
SBowers
*
Posts: 2

Reply
Brick texture
I'm having difficulty with the section on brick texture. The glass filter does not work except on the background layer. I also do not have Lighting Effects on my new iMac. Any suggestions as to how to proceed?

Posted on 06/05/10 4:46:52 PM
GKB
Magical Montagist
Posts: 2933

Reply


Re: Brick texture
I don't want to ask the obvious but the only reason I can think of for the Glass Filter not working as expected is because you have the background layer selected when applying the filter (hence why it only works on that layer). Have you selected the correct layer?

With the Lighting Effects filter check that you are operating in 8 bit mode as it doesn't work with higher bit modes. If you go to Filter>Render and find that Lighting Effects is greyed out then go to Image>Mode> and click on 8bits/ channel.

You will find that many of the filters do not work in 16 bits/channel, including the Glass Filter.

Hope that helps.

Gordon




_________________
Why isn't 'phonetic' spelled the way it sounds?

Posted on 13/05/10 11:01:39 PM
Bob Nolin
*
Posts: 2

Reply


Re: Brick texture
SB -

I, too, had trouble getting the Glass filter to run. I had black bricks on a transparent layer. None of the filters liked that. So I merged the bricks with an all-white layer (now I had black bricks and white spaces between), and the Glass Filter worked. Very odd.

As for your iMac and Lighting effects - are you running Photoshop CS5? Lighting Effs is missing when you are in 64bit mode. Close and restart in 32 bit mode, and it's there. You need to do this workaround for filters that don't work in 64 bit.

To do this: right click on the PSxx.app icon, and do INFO. You'll see a checkbox in there for 32 bit.

Give me a yell if that doesn't help.

Posted on 14/05/10 07:09:57 AM
Steve Caplin
Administrator
Posts: 6163

Reply


Re: Brick texture
Bob's absolutely right about Lighting Effects and Photoshop CS5 - you need to restart in 32-bit mode to enable it.

As for applying the Glass texture, be sure to read the instruction in step 1: you need to draw the bricks on the background layer in order for the filter to work.

Posted on 19/05/10 3:57:55 PM
Lio_cheater
*
Posts: 2

Reply
Re: Brick texture
Hi everyone ! and thanks Steve for your fabulous books..

for me, with brick texture, in step, 6 I don't understand why make the white layer ... Lighting effect don't give me good results on this white layer.

If I apply the lighting effect on the texture layer, it's good...!

Why make this white layer?

Lionel (France)

Posted on 19/05/10 4:04:23 PM
Lio_cheater
*
Posts: 2

Reply
Re: Brick texture
Otherwise, Steve, in step 8 of brick texture, you state about an unsharp radius of 300, I think it was a value for amout, wasn't it?

Lionel

Posted on 26/05/10 2:57:40 PM
SBowers
*
Posts: 2

Reply
Re: Brick texture
Bob Nolin wrote:
SB -

I, too, had trouble getting the Glass filter to run. I had black bricks on a transparent layer. None of the filters liked that. So I merged the bricks with an all-white layer (now I had black bricks and white spaces between), and the Glass Filter worked. Very odd.

As for your iMac and Lighting effects - are you running Photoshop CS5? Lighting Effs is missing when you are in 64bit mode. Close and restart in 32 bit mode, and it's there. You need to do this workaround for filters that don't work in 64 bit.

To do this: right click on the PSxx.app icon, and do INFO. You'll see a checkbox in there for 32 bit.

Give me a yell if that doesn't help.


Thanks! This worked.


Posted on 26/05/10 6:20:00 PM
Steve Caplin
Administrator
Posts: 6163

Reply


Re: Brick texture
Lio_cheater wrote:
Hi everyone ! and thanks Steve for your fabulous books..

for me, with brick texture, in step, 6 I don't understand why make the white layer ... Lighting effect don't give me good results on this white layer.

If I apply the lighting effect on the texture layer, it's good...!

Why make this white layer?

Lionel (France)


If you don't get good results on the white layer, then lower the intensity of the spotlight in Lighting Effects. The white layer is there because Lighting Effects needs to have a background in order to work!
Back

[ To post a reply, please Log In or Register ]

Powered by SimpleForum Pro 4.6